It may seem like a simple question, but many people drive uninsured. In Georgia you are required to purchase automobile insurance. Auto insurance provides a safety net in case you or your family are involved an accident. Driving without auto liability insurance can spell bad news for you and others should you be involved in an accident. If you are at fault, you could face serious financial problems with having to cover the cost of repair or medical costs of injured parties out of pocket.
What happens if I’m caught driving without insurance?
In addition to financial hardships, a DWI (driving without insurance) can have serious legal consequences. The consequences vary from state to state, but you can usually look forward to heavy fines, possible suspension of your license and car registration, higher insurance premiums plus carrying an extra SR22 insurance coverage, and a permanently marred driving record. In Georgia, in addition to whatever traffic violations you are facing, first offenders can be subjected to a fine between $200 and $1,000 and/or up to one year in jail, and a suspended registration until all fees are paid and proof of insurance is obtained.
What kind of auto insurance should I get?
Liability insurance is the most basic form of auto insurance and is what all drivers are required by law to have. Auto liability insurance protects you or a family member against any claims regarding damages for bodily injury or property damage if you or a family member are legally at fault in an auto accident. This type of coverage also pays legal fees and provides representation should you need to appear in court. Though liability coverage is the minimum required auto insurance, there are more types of higher level coverage. Collision insurance pays for physical damage done to your insured vehicle resulting from an accident. Uninsured/underinsured coverage protects you in the event that you are involved in an accident with another driver who either has no insurance or just doesn’t have sufficient coverage. Your policy will be available to pay for whatever injuries and losses are not covered by the other driver’s insurance, or lack thereof.
What is the minimum amount I can buy to drive in Georgia?
Every state has its own minimum coverage requirements. Georgia requires a minimum coverage of 25/50/25. This means that, at a minimum, you must have liability insurance that will cover injured parties up to $25,000, with a maximum of $50,000 per accident, as well as $25,000 in property damage. While carrying this minimum coverage will allow you to drive, it may not cover all the costs of an accident, and you could be sued for any damages over your policy limit.
Do yourself, and other drivers, a favor and don’t drive uninsured.